Recipes · Sweet Saturday · Uncategorized

Sweet Saturday; Nougat, Chocolate Chip and Oat Cookies

image

I had planned to make the oat biscuits I normally make with La Belle Fille the day before she started school. When I spotted a packet of nougat pieces in the baking aisle of LeClerc it got my mind going and I ended up with this recipe.

I should warn you though, the cooking times are going to be a bit vague, so you’ll have to keep an eye on the cookies as they bake and then decide how long to cook yours for. The reason? The oven in our little home.

I remember my mum having one of those old gas ovens when I was young, you know the type that looks like this……

image

In fact I even had one like it in my own house, but as I very seldom cooked I don’t think it was ever a problem. This oven thigh is a mystery. Firstly, unlike any old gas oven I’ve ever come across, the gas jets aren’t at the back. I know the ignition didn’t work and I was waving my lighted flame towards the back of the oven trying to find where on earth I needed to light it. Eventually I found where the gas was released; right at the front in the bottom of the oven. In fact all the gas jets were running down the length either side of the oven base, not along the back.

When La Belle and I had made the cookies and we’d put them in the oven I placed the two baking sheets about 1/3 and 2/3s up respectively. I’d been wary about the time so I checked them half way through and found the ones in the bottom burning underneath, the ones on top – where you’d expect the majority of the cooking to be happening in a none fan assisted oven – were hardly touched.

There then followed a series of experimentation to get the remainder of the cookies right. Different oven positions and flipping the cookies over like a burger halfway through (?) were the two methods I tried. Eventually the final set turned out perfect, even though I only put them in the oven.

I’ve finally come to the conclusion that it’s because I hadn’t let the oven heat up enough before starting to bake them. I guess I’ve got used to fan assisted ovens and their quick heating times. Tant pis!

Anyway, the cookies were delicious. If you want to try them, even after my uninspiring baking description, here’s the recipe.

Ingredients and Method

100g (4oz) porridge oats
50g (2oz) plain flour
50g (2oz) nougat
50g (2oz) chocolate chips
100g (4oz) softened butter
50g (2oz) honey
50g (2oz) golden syrup

1. Preheat the oven to 160C/Gas 3.
2. Measure all the ingredients in a bowl and stir them well.
3. Using a table spoon scoop up some mixture into one spoon and them take another to level the amount and then scoop it onto a baking sheet lined with baking paper. This will keep the cookies a similar size (the mixture is a little moist for normal cutters).
4. Bake and check after ten minutes when the oven is at the right temperature. Check that they’re golden on top, then remove and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Even though they were trouble to make La Belle and I agreed – they’re worth it! In fact after threatening to eat them ourselves in the normal ‘you have to eat your dinner or you won’t get…” threat La Belle Fille rebelled. “You’re not going to eat them. You have to go straight to bed.” It’s quite something to be told off by a stroppy four year old!

Leave a Reply

