Just Moved · Moving To France

Settling In

Our new home is looking more like our home now. The first day of sleeping there the girls came with us after we’d already spent some time sorting things out and La Belle Fille gave her seal of approval. She keeps talking about her new house, her new kitchen, her new bedroom.

image

Le Marie keeps referring to the country kitchen in pretty much every sentence. Our first night sat outside we listened to the owls and the wind in the trees; such peace. We have on only French radio to become more attuned to the language (I can only catch the odd word, they speak so fast) and he keeps laughing when there’s some kind of conversation. Of course La Belle asks him what he’s talking about; “Oh, their very witty. It’s a very French joke though, I don’t think your understand. It loses something in the translation”. He speaks less French than me, but a four year old doesn’t get that.

Although we struggle a little without the internet (expect some really intermittent posts) and I was kind of freaked out by the sound of animals in the roof it’s wonderful. So I thought I’d share some pictures of our new home.

These are of the living room…

image

image

image

I just went out and did a mad cushion dash to make it more personal; the throw and pair of curtains over the sofa and chair I’d brought with us.

All these nik-nacks I’d brought from home and chosen them for their rustic tones, keeping them aside from the storage boxes when packing.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

In fact the Virgin Mary came from France to England and has now been returned to the Elder Daughter Of The Church.

image

I bought the candles from a local shop and the heart dish is actually a pie dish that I’ve put pot-pourri in. As we can’t have a fir right now we’re contesting ourselves with turning on these battery powered strings of Rose lights that I bought from BandM before we left (love a bargain).

image

image

Here’s the country kitchen; I’ve changed the table cloth to this one which complements my rose table mats (I love pink roses more than a bargain)………

image

and we’ve stored all our glass jars above the cabinet.

image

We have a new rule that Les Petites are not allowed any colouring/paint/play dough unless it’s at the kitchen table, and also all food and drink is consumed in here (apart from Le Marie’s glass of wine after Les Petites have gone to bed). La Belle was fascinated by the draw in the bottom of the baguette bin.

The coat rack was already in place, but we brought our already overflowing shoe basket from England. It came with a Marks and Spencer’s Christmas hamper one year and I love it.

image

image

We have to sort out our internet and La Belle starts school this coming week. To our English friends – we miss you, come soon for a visit! To my blogging friends – thankyou for your wisdom!

11 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. It looks so pretty, so glad you are starting to settle in a little. Listening to the Owls at night is fantastic, we have a family in one of our trees and it is incredible how loud they are! Hope you are still having great weather up there, good luck for la Rentree!

    Like

    1. They are loud aren’t they! I found that a little surprising as an ex city dweller. The closest I’d got to owl sounds was me doing them from story books to the little ones; my version was always a lot softer. Perhaps because they look so cuddly in story books.xx

      Like

    1. It’s so wonderful having a voice that’s done it to reach out Catherine – I really appreciate it. I wonder if you had a similar voice of experience when you moved here?

      Like

      1. I obviously know what’s so attractive about France for me, but I wonder why it’s so attractive to people in Australia? Life down under is always portrayed as a paradise to us – admittedly through Home and Away xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

