Meals For A French Kitchen · Recipes

Meals For A French Kitchen; Cassoulet du Pauvre

image

This is an inexpensive version of a cassoulet that is often cooked with goose which, even for so called ‘peasant food’, is costly.

In fact it can be as easily made with duck which freinds of ours buy very cheaply vacuum sealed in France; though I’ve yet to have the courage to give it a go. So I’ve stuck to my sausages. When we move to France I think I’ll have to plump for the duck as there is nothing quite the same as a good old British banger. I hope the French aren’t offended though as there’s cured sausage as well in the form of chorizo – we don’t have any of the French cured sausage that my husband snaps up whenever we visit my folks.

The recipe is perfect for a cooler day and can be served with a Dijon mustard mash or just simply garlic bread. Délicieux!

Ingredients And Method

1tbsp olive oil

1 onion, finely chopped image

1 leek, finely sliced

2 garlic cloves, finely sliced

6 thick pork sausages

125g diced chorizo

400g can if kidney beans, drained

500g passatta

2 beef stock cubes

150ml red wine

  1. Heat the oil in a heavy based pan. Add the onions and leaks and fry until translucent.
  2. Add the garlic, sausages and chorizo and lightly fry until the sausages start to brown.
  3. Add the beans, passatta, wine and stock cubes and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for about between 45mins to an hour until the sauce has reduced to the desired consistency.

I have so many cans of kidney beans in my cupboards – I don’t know why, it looks like I’ve been preparing for some kind of Armageddon. This recipe means we’re one step closer to whittling down our foodstuffs in preparation for our going. Each time we eat one of these meals I feel like we’re one step closer.

 
UnCookieCutter

One thought on “Meals For A French Kitchen; Cassoulet du Pauvre

Leave a Reply

