Meals For A French Kitchen · Recipes

Meals For A French Kitchen; Pork With Prunes

 

image

I never know quite how to cook pork and as a result there was a packet lurking in my freezer. As I’ve set myself the task of emptying it as much as possible before we say au revoir I hunted through my cook books to find a suitable recipe. This one not only fitted but, with some slight adaptions, allowed me to divest myself not only of some port steaks that I’d bought as part of an offer at my local butcher, it also used up a can of prunes that was lurking in the darkest recesses of one of our cupboards.

This dish is of the Touraine reason of France which is rich in orchards. Slightly sweet, creamy and so tasty I highly recommend it – in fact I’m tempted to restock up on pork!

Ingredients and Method

4 pork steaks

1 400g can of pitted prunes, drained

1tbsp olive oil

45g butter

1 onion, finely chopped

155ml white wine

280ml chicken or pork stock

1 bay leaf

2 tsps dried thyme

250ml double cream

  1. Trim any excess fat from the pork.
  2. Heat the oil and half the butter in a heavy based pan. When the butter bubbles slightly add the pork and sauté on both sides. Transfer this to a warm plate, cover and keep warm.
  3. Pour away the excess fat. Melt the remaining butter and cook the onion over a low heat until softened. Add the wine, bring to the boil and simmer for 2 minutes. Then add the stock, bay leaf and thyme and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes or until it’s reduced by half.
  4. Strain the stock into a bowl and clean the pan. Return the stock to the pan, add the cream and prunes and simmer for about ten minutes or until the sauce has thickened to the desired consistency. Put the pork back into the pot and simmer until heated through.

 

I served this with a simple baked potato but, annoyingly, I realised whilst cooking that I’d forgotten to get the green beans that I’d planned to serve as well. Tant pis! À la prochain.

image

image

2 thoughts on “Meals For A French Kitchen; Pork With Prunes

Leave a Reply

